Some Great Ass at Lake Pleasant

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Realized it’s been awhile since I’ve shared anything.  Truth is, I’m in the middle of a re-branding effort….settling on a new logo, business cards, promos, etc…..and it’s really driving me crazy.  Thought I’d settled on something recently, but after an initial bust run of cards, I decided to change it up…again.  It’s unnerving and you want to be 100% sure when you’re about to drop a ton of cash on something that’s going to “represent” you for a long time to come (or at least as long as the collateral lasts).  I’m getting there, though.  Anyway… 

I finally got out to Lake Pleasant recently.  It’s the second largest lake in the valley (after Roosevelt Lake) and just a short 25-minute drive away.  Reminds me of Lake Perris in California where I grew up.  And Fern Ridge in Eugene where I just moved from.  And probably the lake near the place you live or grew up, too, haha.  It has all the typical lake-related activities you’d expect to find- fishing, water sports, camping, hiking, etc.  What I like most about it, and what probably separates it from a lot of lakes, is that there are a bunch of off-road trails you can drive down onto spits of land to the waterfront.  I made a point to turn down any road I came across just to see where it went.

lake_pleasant_10_24_14_005

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Pulled up to this place and the welcoming committee was out in force.  I had no idea wild burros are in the area so this was quite a surprise.  I stopped and observed for awhile (the young ones being especially adorable), but there was one particular jack that started huffing and puffing and staring me down before they headed off on “their” trail.  I got another view of them after leaving and that guy still kept a close eye on me.  Turns out he has every right to be wary.  When I got home I did a little research and found that earlier this year almost a dozen of the 300+ member herd were randomly shot in the area.  Police never identified any suspects.  But we all know it’s one (or more) of the scummiest, most heartless, chicken shittiest bastards alive.

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

lake_pleasant_10_24_14_038

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

On a lighter note, I was wearing an Oregon t-shirt and met a woman at the visitor center who had just flown down from Salem the night before.  She made it out of the rain just in time.  Made me laugh.  It’s getting to that time of year when you really appreciate living here, and when Lake Pleasant starts to get busy according to one of the park rangers.  I was shooting some 6×7 film with my rangefinder, too, so I’m excited to see how that turns out, even though lighting wasn’t ideal while I was there and I had to leave right when it started getting better.  Just gives me an excuse to go back for some camping and a little more exploring.

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Leave a Reply

