Frog

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2014 Marc Allen Mintz

Finally developed some film I shot over summer…

This was a good night at the Ems game with my friend Kerri and Eugene living legend, Frog. It was fun being out with him.  He’s literally a local celebrity so you pretty much have to expect a lot of people will be saying hello and talking to him wherever you go.  A few years back he had Kerri and I perform some music on his radio show at the college station, definitely one of the highlights of my time there.

He had a pretty serious health scare earlier this year and was in the hospital for awhile. Local TV news interviewed him there and he had people really worried. He told us how much he appreciated the outpouring of support from the community.

By this time he was feeling better, but pretty slow on his feet. It took us awhile to walk from the car to the stadium and he’d have to stop every 15ft or so to rest.  The first time he stopped, I didn’t know what was going on.  Then all of a sudden he blurted out “I just thought of a joke!”  I forget what it was, but it was quintessential Frog humor.  I thought I just witnessed that mysterious magical moment when inspiration hits a funnyman.  It wasn’t until the third time that Kerri filled me in on exactly why he kept stopping…I just assumed he was letting it flow and had to seize the moment, again and again!  His self-published joke books (and rubber chickens) are what he’s known for around town.  My old housemate’s dad used to visit and sit on our front porch laughing his ass off at Frog’s books.

At the end of this night, as we were leaving, a PR representative from the Ems came up to us and introduced himself to Frog.  He said they were thinking of an upcoming promotion where they wanted to make and give away bobble heads in his image and asked if he’d be interested.  He got a kick out of the idea and gave the guy his number.  Not sure if that actually ended up happening, but I would’ve loved to see it.

Leave a Reply

