Short ‘n’ Sweet

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

The only bad part of stealth camping in my truck in the parking lot at the Old Faithful Inn was having to get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom…  

The previous night I got into a conversation with the bartender about how they know when people come into the park at night when the rangers aren’t at the gates.  She didn’t know exactly but mentioned they had cameras.  That immediately got me thinking the parking lots could very well be under surveillance, too.  Anyway, like I said, it all worked out.  And it was nice being able to get some fresh coffee at the inn right when I woke up.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Made my way south into Jackson.  From there I took the Teton Pass Highway (10% grade up and down!) over to Driggs, Idaho.

The original plan was to stay the previous night in Driggs so I could tag along on a hot air balloon ride with my friend Kevin of Teton Balloon Flights this morning.  The thing about ballooning is you fly at sunrise or sunset because it’s typically when the wind conditions are calmest.  So by the time I got to Driggs Kevin had been up, down, and done for a couple hours already.  It was one of those decisions I had to make the previous day, and while I’m happy I got to see more of Yellowstone this time, it was also a bummer I couldn’t fly with Kevin.  I mean, this is where he does it….incredible landscape!

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

In any case, we had a nice lunch and caught up a bit.  No photos, but I promise you’ll be seeing Kevin in the very near future in a new portfolio I’ll be sharing.  I’m VERY excited about it and it’s long overdue.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Onto Boise for the night to visit my old friend Katie.  I met her in Americorps years back and eventually shot her wedding in Bend, Oregon.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

And now, she and her husband Nic have this little guy!  So now you see how sweet this is going to get.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

It was great seeing Katie and Nic again and meeting little Joaquin.  But as these short ‘n’ sweet things go, I was already onto Hood River, Oregon the next morning.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Different city, same drill.  Met Lauren and Nick in Americorps as well.  Shot their wedding, too!  Always good to see them up in the Gorge.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

And it was my first time meeting their (big) little guy Perry.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

I know Barlow, we’ve been through this before…

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

As much as I love those folks and would’ve loved to stay longer I had to get to my next stop in Bend, Oregon the next day.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

With a little detour over to Washington just to say I did 😉

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

The ever-so-lovely Kristin would be my host in Bend.  Same deal, Americorps.  (I’m telling you, if you want to meet a bunch of interesting people from all over the country doing interesting things, do Americorps.)

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

We went out to a trivia night at a local bar with a few of her friends (who were all gorgeous by the way…gorgeous attracts gorgeous, right?)  Threw me off my game a little bit, or at least that’s my excuse.  I couldn’t even remember the name of Neil Young or Willie Nelson’s guitars.  And I call myself a musician, pftt.  (“Old Black” and “Trigger” by the way.)  Ah well, it was still fun.

Early morning goodbye.  Time is always too short with you Kristin.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

So I jumped on SR 242 from Sisters through the mountains.  It’s a state scenic route that closes during the winter.  Really glad I finally took the time to drive it.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Finally arrived in Eugene for what would be my second and last hard date of the trip.  It worked out perfectly because I was planning on visiting a buddy on the Oregon coast anyway when I found out another friend was looking for a housesitter  in Eugene for a few weeks.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

And it’s here where I started this whole crazy idea of being a photographer.  So take a look through the vaults below and I’m sure you’ll find some photos of and about Eugene (i.e., I put my camera away for awhile).

In the meantime, I had a great time catching up with a few old friends and keeping busy going through photos and writing this stuff.  Back on the road soon to the bee-yoooo-tiful Oregon coast, where hippies hide in the woods and the idea of a turnout is completely lost on way too many tourists.  (Seriously, WHY do you see 3 or 4 or 20 cars behind you and NONE in front of you?!)

You’ll see, it really is worth it though.

Leave a Reply

