(In No Particular Order) Death, Grapes, and Fire

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Just a quickie from my drive south from Arcata.  

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Matt told me I should check out a little town called Ferndale on the way, particularly the cemetery.  It’s true you can tell a lot about a culture by the way it treats its dead.  And there’s something about the large family plots.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Ferndale’s a quaint little Victorian village a few miles off the 101 freeway south of Arcata, but yeah, the cemetery was the highlight for me.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

I was heading to Vacaville for the next couple days and decided to cruise through California’s prized wine country,

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Worship thy grapes.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Came across an elementary school right smack in the middle of thousands of acres of grape vines.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

I followed this fire truck for miles on the winding 128, only to lose it going through a small town with a stop light.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

But eventually caught up to where it was headed.  I was talking to another photographer who said he heard the call on the scanner about 30 minutes prior.  It was pretty epic watching these crews do their thing on Lake Hennessey.  And it’s crazy how dangerous their jobs are.  Californians have a lot of reasons right now to thank such selfless service by brave men and women on the front lines.  Check out this amazing essay the Geographic released recently.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Moving on I decided to take a road off 128 that, from what I could tell on Google maps on my tiny smartphone, looked like it would get me into Vacaville.  It turned out to be a neat little drive through the canyons and hills just west of town.  Unfortunately, smoke from all the wildfires was beginning to fill the central valley.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Came across this little one standing outside the fence from all the other cows.  I wondered if it had gotten loose and didn’t know how to get back in.  It stood perfectly still while I made a couple pictures, but as soon as I drove off it scampered back to the hole in the fence to join the rest of the herd.  Made me laugh.

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

Copyright 2015 Marc Allen Mintz

So my next couple stops are with some of my best friends from my days in SoCal.  We’ve all spread around since, but I’ve seen them a couple times a year for the last 8 on my annual trek from Oregon to Arizona.  It’s a little bittersweet because I don’t anticipate seeing them as often given my semi-permanent relocation to Arizona.  But then again, I didn’t think I’d see them this summer before I decided to take this trip.  So who knows!  More to come…

Leave a Reply

